Being convicted of a crime can carry serious penalties. For example, a person who is found guilty of selling a Schedule I or II controlled substance will be convicted of a Class G felony, which is punishable by up to 51 months in prison and up to $25,000 in fines. After the individual is released […]
People get hurt during athletic contests. Sometimes, they get hurt badly. At that point, the injury may have some implications beyond the playing field. League supervisors want to prove that the game is safe, and they may look for someone to blame.
At trials and hearings, Wake County prosecutors use police Breathalyzer techs to authenticate the breath test results. These techs try to dazzle the jury with talk of fuel cells and electrochemical conversions. But these technicians never say that today’s Breathalyzer, with all its bells and whistles, is basically a miniaturized version of the 1950s Drunk-O-Meter.
Any arrest, especially for Driving While Intoxicated, has severe consequences. For example, North Carolina is an implied consent state. So, the DMV may suspend a drivers’ license in the event of an arrest, if the driver either fails a chemical test or refuses to provide a sample.
In February 2019, Senator Paul Lowe (D-Forsyth) reintroduced a measure in the State Senate which would allow people to possess up to three ounces of cannabis legal for their own personal use. Last year’s version, which lawmakers did not approve, would have allowed up to four ounces. Nevertheless, this latest bill would significantly alter the legal landscape for Raleigh drug possession attorneys.
Colloquially known as “blow and go,” an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) is a portable Breathalyzer which is attached to the vehicle’s ignition. Drivers must provide acceptable chemical samples to start the car or keep it running. A failure or refusal disables the ignition. These devices are mandatory after both DWI arrests and convictions, in some cases. Raleigh DWI attorneys usually cannot fight this particular requirement.
Most parents dread late night or early morning phone calls which inform them that their son or daughter has been arrested. The nightmare is much worse if the child is in custody for a felony or another serious crime. Typically, children go through North Carolina’s juvenile justice system. But that’s not always the case.
Aggravating & Mitigating Factors If you have been arrested for a DWI in North Carolina, a conviction will result in serious penalties such as jail time, a suspended driver’s license, fines, and a criminal record. However, if there are certain aggravating factors which can increase the severity of the consequences. Additionally, there are also mitigating factors available […]
Business North Carolina magazine recently released its 2019 Legal Elite listing. Editors look at things like results obtained, community reputation, and peer recommendation to compile this list. So, it is a great honor for Bill Finn and Trey Fitzhugh to be listed among with their esteemed colleagues. Over the years, this list has developed into the standard against which all others are measured.
To pull over motorists, officers must generally have reasonable suspicion of criminal activity. Essentially, this standard is an evidence-based hunch. In DWI situations, reasonable suspicion is a two-tier inquiry. First, officers must detect criminal activity with regard to vehicle operation. Second, officers must have evidence of substance use, so they can properly conduct DWI investigations.